☰ Menu

Welcome to Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society

Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society is a general scholarship honor society open to junior and senior men and women in all academic areas who meet the requirements of the society.

Our purpose is to promote high scholarship; to encourage sincere and zealous endeavor in all fields of knowledge and service; to cultivate a high order of personal living; and to develop an appreciation for scholarship and scholarly endeavor in others.

Induction AKM

Latest AKM Newsletter

  Alpha Kappa Mu Newsletter Vol. 38, No.1 - May, 2019

President's Message

May 17, 2019

PresidentDear Alpha Kappa Muans,

In 2008, when Dr. Adeline Evans, longtime advisor of the Kappa Iota (FAMU) Chapter, retired, I often wondered why she was so careful in selecting her successor.  Then I recalled the numerous departmental meetings in which she enthusiastically shared information about AKM and could clearly see her overwhelming love for the society and genuine concern for the future of the chapter.  With this view in mind, I humbly agreed to step into her shoes and have never regretted the decision.

As Faculty Advisor and Honorary Inductee (2009) of the Kappa Iota Chapter and as National Public Relations Director (2013-2019), I stand in awe of the vision Dr. George W. Gore, Jr. had to honor the academic achievements of students who may not have otherwise received such recognition. Since 1937, the resounding litany of scholars across the globe who vowed at some point during their undergraduate or graduate careers to exemplify character, scholarship, citizenship, service, and leadership—the five principles upon which Alpha Kappa Mu was founded—validates the mission Dr. Gore had so long ago and attests to the mandate placed before our members and me as your National President!!

I am extremely honored to have been selected to lead AKM through its next era of promoting and recognizing academic excellence. In doing so, I understand the importance of "Honoring the Past While Preparing the Future" if we are to preserve the legacy and viability of our beloved organization for years to come. Officers, directors, advisors, and members at all levels should expect to hear from me soon as we collectively implement "reflection, mentorship, and student engagement" activities to increase membership in and commitment to the Society.

I look forward to a productive and rewarding tenure in my newest AKM role!

Veronica A. Yon

Veronica Adams Yon, Ph.D. President-Elect


Alpha Kappa Mu is a Member of the
Association of College Honor Societies


Copyright ©2005-Present Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society
Design by id2